Scroll to learn more

A fairer, greener future for Bournemouth


Labour Councillor for Boscombe East and Pokesdown, George Farquhar, named as Deputy Mayor for 2023-2024

The Labour Group at BCP Council is delighted that George is taking up this prestigious role so soon into the new administration. It reflects George’s hard work and dedication to his councillor duties over the past four years and the positive start the Labour Group is making within the new BCP Council.

Cllr Sharon Carr-Brown, Group Leader, said: “George is a wonderful example of a local councillor, working hard for his residents and loving the area he represents. He will make an excellent Deputy Mayor and then Mayor next year.”

She added: “His nomination by the new administration also underlines how things have changed at the Council. We’ve all had enough of politics for the sake of politics and are seeking ways to work together as much as possible.

“The Labour Group had some very positive discussions with the Three Towns Alliance and we mutually agreed that a formal working relationship would not be appropriate. However, as a group, we see our role as constructive opposition, where we will support where we can and influence where we feel policy needs to change.

“We have ten councillors across Poole and Bournemouth, representing a wide spread of expertise and experience. We’ve secured a very good range of committee places and are well placed to represent our residents’ interests. Challenge and scrutiny are vital to good policy making and we intend to do this fairly and robustly.

“There’s so much that needs to be done after the previous administration, we don’t want to waste any time. We’re looking forward to the cross-party, inclusive working that the Council Leader spoke about on Tuesday night.

“We all stood as councillors on the strength of our local manifesto and our aim is to implement as much of that as possible for the benefit of all residents. We will work as constructively as we can to achieve a fairer, greener and better future for the people of our three wonderful towns.”